Transfer To Another Country

sndgan

Hi, I've been working as a PT package handler for about 2 years now. I was wondering if this was possible. Does this happen? Thankyou!

PiedmontSteward

RTW-4-Less
Hi, I've been working as a PT package handler for about 2 years now. I was wondering if this was possible. Does this happen? Thankyou!

You will not retain the same wages, seniority, or benefits. The UPS/IBT National Contract only applies to Teamster-affiliated locals in the US. The decision to allow such a "transfer" is entirely the company's.

I personally witnessed a 17 year PT'er transfer to another country when his wife found a new job. He was never able to "transfer" and applied as a re-hire when she came back 2-3 years later. He retained his pension credit (vested) but lost his hourly rate, seniority, and vacations.

FrigidFTSup

Resident Suit
It may be difficult. Yes we are one company, but the way they organize the company for tax purposes you are essentially transferring companies if you go over the border. You work for United Parcel Incorporated, but in Canada it is something along the lines of United Parcel LTD. Under the same umbrella, but different at the same time. Most likely they would only allow transfers for higher ups because of the logistics involved.

worldwide

You transferring to the Bronx?

Or NJ. David Abney seems to think NJ was an international assignment for him.

"He went on to driving a truck, and then went into management being transferred eight times. He jokingly said his first international assignment was when he and his wife were transferred to New Jersey. “We both cried,” he said."

I'm sure the UPS employees that live in NJ think that's special.

FrigidFTSup

Resident Suit

"He went on to driving a truck, and then went into management being transferred eight times. He jokingly said his first international assignment was when he and his wife were transferred to New Jersey. “We both cried,” he said."