Become a UPS driver or sheriff deputy in Los Angeles

delta88

I've been working part time as a package handler for about 8 years and should be making a transition to becoming a UPS driver at any time but at the same time I went through the LA county sheriff trainee selection process for past one year and just received a call from the sheriff's department that I passed the selection process and that my 5 months training at the sheriff's academy starts on September to become a sheriff deputy. I really want to do both but I have to choose one as my life time career and give up the other forever. It's very hard decision to make. Any advice or opinions?

km3

If my life situation was a little different, I'd be trying to get into law enforcement or fire fighting right now. In your position, I'd start training to become a deputy. But you have to figure out what's best for you. Good luck either way.

Box Ox

The possibility of having a shot back and knees versus actually being shot at would be an important consideration for me. That, and wearing a uniform that makes me generally loved by most vs loved by most but a possible target for a few.

But you're probably braver than I am. For me it'd probably have to pay more than being a driver does.

If I were a part timer and it was between UPS Management and sheriff's deputy, I'd hands down go for SD every time.

Re-Raise

CA pays big, but sooner or later, it's going to hit the fan with all their debt.
Why you steal my avatar ?!?!?

Arrest Wally OP!!

Edit: It looks like your old avatar on my phone now. Nevermind I guess. It must be my pain meds

Last edited:

Johney

Sheriff. Got a buddy who works county around here, he's been there not quite as long as I've been at UPS but he makes almost as much as I do and his pension blows mine away. He will be retired before me too amazing.

Nike