center manager or HR?

HardknocksUPSer

Who has more "say so" in things that go on at UPS? I've been working preload since I graduated high school in 2014 I'm now 20 and would like to go temp driving this peak since I'll be eligible in OCT of this year. The bid list quoted the requirements and all of which applies to me besides the fact that I must be 21, not knowing when the driver training will be I asked the center manager if she thought I could sign the bid list, she said "yes I want you to sign it, even if you don't make it to driver training this year" so a week later I get a call from HR and she says " you could be disqualified for a year for signing the bid sheet without meeting the requirement" I said okay and dropped it without talking to the center manager to avoid possibly being disqualified for a year for some reason. So who has more say so in most situations, the center manager or HR?

HardknocksUPSer

The bid said "failure to meet qualifications will result in disqualification" but that can be taken many ways depending on when the driver training is. At any rate I guess I'll wait till next year.

PT Car Washer

The bid said "failure to meet qualifications will result in disqualification" but that can be taken many ways depending on when the driver training is. At any rate I guess I'll wait till next year.
That statement can mean just about anything. You could be disqualified for having too many tickets or not having the correct type of drivers license or not being able to drive a manual transmission.

HardknocksUPSer

You only have to wait a year if you self disqualify.
The way things in my center are going I could be driving in a year (not likely) but very possible. The old timer group is going to be retiring soon and I'm one of the very few PT's that actually consider driving. I'm in a small center, maybe 30-40 employees between both local sort and preload combined. If a group of 5-10 drivers go out at once someone will take their place.

MendozaJ