Certain COD Deliveries

vantexan

I've delivered quite a few COD letters from a company that is duping people. They are actually selling Iraqi currency, the Iraq Dinar, to gullible people who are convinced that the Dinar will go up to par with the U.S. Dollar soon. Was actually told by a recipient yesterday that the $250 worth of Dinars he was buying will soon be worth $250,000 USD when the Dinar is valued at par with the Dollar. Absolutely no understanding of currency markets. Wouldn't that be great if you could just hand over some foreign money you were wise enough to buy for chump change and the bank will gladly exchange it for a quarter million or more? I've been delivering one COD a week to one lady for several months now. At $564 a pop for her! Hard to believe FedEx isn't aware of this scam and bothers me to participate in it. Think Tea Partiers are angry, wait'll thousands of people across the country find out they've been scammed.

quadro

FedEx also moves a lot of illegal drugs. I'm not so sure it's a scam, per se, as the recipients are receiving exactly what they are paying for. Whether they are gullible enough to fall for the sales pitch about the value increasing isn't FedEx's problem. Anyway, this has been going on for years so it's nothing new.

rod

Retired 22 years
We had a customer who lived in a beautiful lake house who made his living investing in foreign currency but I don't believe Iraqi bucks would be the way to go.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

This does not sound like a scam to me at all. The consignee knows exactly what they are getting themselves involved in. As to whether it is a smart financial move or not I guess they will find out over time.