Drivers: How long does it take you to find a package (on average)

bostoncommon

I'm new to preloading and trying to understand my job impacts drivers... it seems like it would be a pretty quick task to find a package in the package car since they're in order but I've heard that things can get mixed up or the preload can be bad. In your experience, how long, on average, does it take for you (the driver) to find a package after you've parked your truck.

ajax25

In order? That must be nice...haha

Nah it really depends on the loader, it seems to me that some of them can handle loading 3 trucks every morning and some can't, I'm a swing driver so I never know what to expect from a load. Sometimes they are all in order and on the correct shelves and sometimes they are on the correct shelves but appear to just be tossed up there somewhat close to where they should be, then you have the bad ones where boxes are completely on the wrong shelves and you find them 3 hrs later. If it's all in order it's a matter of just a few seconds (3-5) to grab the box and be out of the truck. If not then it might be 2-3 min to find a package depending on how heavy I am that day.

Sent using BrownCafe App

Puggy

I load 5 trucks literally everyday I always put my packages in the right spot if not near BUT sometimes the driver pisses me off by complaining about the smallest :censored2: so in the days of the week I just sort and hide a package that belongs in the 1000 shelf behind a HUGE box in the 8000 area WAHAHAHA bitch don't mess with your loader HEHEHEHEHEHE

Johney

I just sort and hide a package that belongs in the 1000 shelf behind a HUGE box in the 8000 area WAHAHAHA bitch don't mess with your loader HEHEHEHEHEHE