Full Time Management Question

cookscrue

Is anyone out there full time management? I'm a part-time dispatch supervisor and have been asked about whether I would like to make the jump to On-Road Supervisor. My biggest reservation is that I have no driving experience and I would think you would need that to be a good On-Road. People here are telling me that it isn't an issue but I'm not sure I buy it. Any feedback would be helpful.

goetface

I believe any job within ups, unless you prolly work at headquarters * visualize a head on a quarter* isn't to hard to figure out. I think you got your answer already, go with your gut, and if you do your better safe then sorry.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Is anyone out there full time management? I'm a part-time dispatch supervisor and have been asked about whether I would like to make the jump to On-Road Supervisor. My biggest reservation is that I have no driving experience and I would think you would need that to be a good On-Road. People here are telling me that it isn't an issue but I'm not sure I buy it. Any feedback would be helpful.

I am not mgt but have been a driver for 23 years. There is no question that experience as a driver would help you immensely; however, it is not necessary to have driven to supervise drivers, much like it is not necessary to know how to load packages to deliver them. Not having been a driver means you will have to earn the respect of the drivers. It has been a while since we have had a new on-car but our last one had to drive for 30 days before he started supervising. Good luck. Dave.

Brownfloater