Going Into Porter's From Driving

kurtkampy

Hi Im Kurt from Wisconsin and I've been driving over 29 years. I'm thinking of transferring to Porters. My question is do you think the porter jobs will still be around in 3 years when contract is up? There really isn't a lot of information about porters out there and I don't know if the jobs are the same all over the country. Any thoughts on this?

Kurt Kampy

scratch

Least Best Moderator
Staff member
This sounds like a good move to me. As a senior driver, I would not mind finishing out my last few years doing something like this that looks like it isn't so hard on the body. My only concern would be like you stated, will the job be there for the next few years.

brownmonster

Man of Great Wisdom
kurt, speaking of Pension, local 344's pension is in the red. Might want to take the 30 and out while it's still there. You can get a janitor job somewhere else to make some extra.

kurtkampy

Hey Brownmonster;

I know that 344 pension is in the red, but if the pension went belly up would it matter if I was retired and collecting or if I was still working? If there's no money in the pension at least I might still have a job.

brownmonster

Man of Great Wisdom
Hey Brownmonster;

I know that 344 pension is in the red, but if the pension went belly up would it matter if I was retired and collecting or if I was still working? If there's no money in the pension at least I might still have a job.

Good point. What I'm saying is guys are sticking around waiting for the pension to improve. I see the monthly pension being less down the road or having to be older to collect it. People getting a full pension at 51 years old is unsustainable.

kurtkampy