Helper Bonus only paid to latecomers?

TX Helper

I'm a Driver Helper with the Dallas, TX ("Monroe") center. Recently I inquired about the advertised $75 bonus mentioned in the job description. After a lot of back-and-forth between the Helper Coordinator and 3 members of the local H.R. staff, I was told that I was ineligible for the bonus because I had started before and attended my Helper Orientation before November 23rd of this year.

Apparently a helper who signed up on, or after 11/23 receives an extra $75 in their weekly paycheck assuming they show up for work every eligible day. I am not eligible, simply because I started before a certain date.

I do find this "policy" grossly unfair, given that a) no mention was made that some helpers would receive the bonus while other helpers would be ineligible, and b) as far as I can determine all helpers are essentially doing the same tasks at work. As a matter of policy I have made certain that I have presented myself on time, each day in order to work, including the past 2 Saturdays, and I remain until my driver tells me he no longer needs my help.

Question for the readers:

1) Does your center have a similar policy on bonus awards (e.g. are all helpers eligible for bonuses regardless what they hire date was)? I would like to know if this is a UPS-wide policy or simply a rule of the Dallas center.

2) Does anyone have any suggestions on whom else I can contact (other than my local center HR). I would appreciate specific names, if you have this information.

I just am feeling a bit steamed, being paid $10.15/hour, and encountering what I perceive to be a double-standard. To me it's not about the money, it's about being paid fairly.

Thank you.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

OP---you have every right to be upset; unfortunately, as a seasonal employee, you have little to no recourse to rectify this unfair situation.