No Work for PT Air Drivers Peak ‘23

NinjaSox

Hello all,
I am a PT Bid EAM driver in the Southern Supplement. This post is regarding this past peak season.
In the past years, our center has allowed us to run our own built ground routes every day during peak season. The new contract states that PT inside employees now have rights to PVD/SSD work before UPS can hire outside contractors. In my opinion that’s a major win for our inside PT’s, however, UPS is now trying to force us air drivers in my center to become PVD/SSD at a MUCH LOWER pay rate than what we get paid to do air. They did not allow us to work hardly any extra past our guaranteed 3.5 hours, because “no work was available.” Even besides ground, we were not permitted to run any extra air that was left at the building as the supervisors were giving it to outside PVD/SSD contractors. Upper management claimed we did not sign up to be SSD’s (why would we? driving our own car for nearly half the rate?), and we are not cover drivers, so they are not obligated to give us anything. I never wish to mess up money opportunities of a fellow Teamster, but they were hiring 60+ PVD/SSD’s off the street and telling me to go home. They allowed the FT 22.3 Air drivers to run ground routes every day, but the contract language is the same for all air drivers, (a.k.a, nearly nothing.) I have filed on a variety of different articles and topics through Nov-Dec.
Has anyone else fallen into this scenario this past peak season? I’m just looking for other’s stories and/or advice on my current topic. The contract strongly emphasizes “inside” employees when it comes to SSD language, and says absolutely nothing about air drivers being allowed/not allowed to work extra during peak. The local Union is not exactly “supporting” me on this matter.

NinjaSox

Pretty sure UPS didn't use any SSD contractors. All SSDs should be employees.
I can personally assure you that majority of these SSD’s were not on preload nor night sort