How do you feel about your mechanics?

Mechanic86

Turd Polishing Expert
I'm a mechanic for UPS, I've been turning wrenches professionally for 5 years but only about 6 months here at UPS. So far it's a pretty thankless job just like anywhere else except for the guys in the bay next to you. So basically in my short time here I've noticed that there are a lot of driver's that are just down right arrogant and annoying while others seem to be good people and understanding. I do my best to handle my deadline's, dvir's, scheduled repairs, unscheduled repairs, and breakdowns and at the moment I have a fleet of 47 package cars I am responsible for. At times I wonder a bit about how the driver's perceive us because of the many demands/requests that we receive. I can tell you how most the mechanics view the majority of driver's and that would be not too sharp/entitled even. Though keep in mind that doesn't apply to all driver's just a large portion of them lol so what do you guy's think about us?

Jackburton

Gone Fish'n
Some drivers don't care about their UPS vehicle because they don't take ownership of it. Full trashcan that blows out cans down the highway, cargo area looks like a dump, dash looks like a 2 year old are charcoal and barfed it up.

On the other side of the equation, you have drivers who write up a vehicle because of legitimate problem and mechanics send back "parts on order" or "can't replicate problem". We drive these tanks all day and yet you take it for a spin and can't make that "noise" happen. Two days later the oil pan blows, the truck is laying on the side of the road, and the driver has to drive a spare older than him for the next month.

UPS automotive dept has to do more with less, just like every aspect of UPS, the pressure to "keep them in the road yet don't have road calls" starts to set in. No mechanics allowed to have overtime is a popular one.

Just a quick post of a few things that come to mind.

greengrenades