Need Helpful Tips On Surviving the Long Hours

A

anonymous6

Fairly new here and really enjoy the discussions. My question pertains to needing tips on surviving the long hrs.

i am a feeder driver now for 15 years and am in my 50's. i work about 11-12 or more hrs a day in snow country and have an hr commute each way. For all of my career have been able to handle these hrs BUT for the last couple years it seems i am really wearing down.

i get so tired, i can't think straight and really need my vacations to recuperate, etc. management gives me a hard time if i won't volunteer for extra work. i think sometimes i am becoming unsafe.

i have even gone to the doctor and been thoroughly checked out and they found nothing wrong.

i eat right for the most part ( maybe only 10-15 lbs over what the doctor wants ) I take brisk walks on my meal or breaks.

does anyone have any tips? maybe lift weights or try some new foods? do energy drinks work?

any advice would be greatly appreciated. what works for you? I've got 10 years left and right now, the way i feel, don't think i can make it.

A

anonymous6

When I was in the hub some feeder guys would sleep in the cab until the load was ready to be pulled.

getting enough sleep for work is my number one priority. on a snow night of 12=16 hrs plus commute , i may only get 4-5 hrs sleep and i'm not even close to 100% for that night.

i know sleep is very important. kinda looking for a total program to survive. for some reason, i'm really feeling my age or older. this is disconcerting because until i was 50 I always felt half that age.

DS

Fenderbender
Try breaking your lunch up into 3 -20 minute breaks and close your eyes and sleep if you can.
Take vitamins and fish oil and do your walks after work when you are relaxed.Lose 10 pounds.

satellitedriver

until i was 50 I always felt half that age.
Sorry to be the one to break it to ya.
The fifties aren't nifty.