Need Information!!!

Stevem430

Hey All, Steve here,

I've been working for UPS now as a pre-loader since mid November 2013. So, I suppose I am still new to everything and I need to know about my job position and what I am entitled to as a UPS employee. My situation that I am in is currently very concerning and was looking for help from anyone. To give you a little bit of background info., after working "peak" season my FT supervisor had approached me with keeping me in the facility as a part time preloader. I obviously accepted and have been woking ever since. However, from time to time I would be sent home due to "lack of work" and also because the level of seniority I have is pretty much "Low Man on the Totem Pole", so if no one else wants to go home I have to (which I can understand). I had even mentioned it to my shop steward in hopes of getting some more information (which was back in mid March). He had informed me that because I was hired during the "freeze" period (which I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THAT MEANS) that even though I was still hired, technically my thirty days wouldn't have kicked in until the end of the month. We're now in mid April and I am still getting calls/txts from my PT Supervisor that I don't need to come in and that he will see me tomorrow (just got one this morning). WHAT IS GOING ON? I had also mentioned to some of my co-workers about what the deal was and they were a bit puzzled also. Any info, from anyone would be greatly appreciated!

On a semi-related tangent, I never even received a "welcome package/kit" from UPS as a new employee...I don't even have an employee handbook!! Am I considered a PT employee or not?! Who can I talk to in my facility about this?

Thanks for reading!

Sincerely,

​Steve

bleedinbrown58

That’s Craptacular