New Cover Driver

Jhansen

They just promoted me to cover driver (7 years in.. 5 years on military leave), and I'm concerned on how much I'll be working due to the fact that I have a family and have to pay rent, bills, etc. I also am registered in school with my VA benefits that help support us. Will I be mostly working fulltime? I dont want to drop all of my classes not knowing if I will be making enough.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Cover driving and school DO NOT mix.

We have a lower seniority cover driver who is also a FT college student. He works the preload when he is in school and drives, if needed, on breaks and during the latter part of peak.

I think your best bet is to stay PT until you finish school.

gostillerz

It depends on the center you work at. I've been a cover driver for 2 1/2 years. Last year, I made $11,000. Besides peak, i was lucky to drive once or twice a month. Like Upstate said, definitely stay on preload if you can.

UPSGUY72

They just promoted me to cover driver (7 years in.. 5 years on military leave), and I'm concerned on how much I'll be working due to the fact that I have a family and have to pay rent, bills, etc. I also am registered in school with my VA benefits that help support us. Will I be mostly working fulltime? I dont want to drop all of my classes not knowing if I will be making enough.

In my area cover driver are FT Drivers and guaranteed 8 hrs a day they just don't have there own route, they cover routes when drivers are out or they run splits....

In some areas cover driver are PTimers that cover when they are needed.

You would have to pick between going to school and working PT or quitting school and being a cover driver.

UPSGUY72

Cover driving is never steady. You are basically on call all the time for call ins and heavy vacation weeks.

That depends on your location. I'm a cover driver and I have a route to due everyday some weeks it the same route everyday other weeks I due a different route every day.