Overpayment disaster!

Dub Brown Eye

I go into work yesterday, and get called into the office. Turns out they have been paying me the wrong rate since July. Now they are trying to figure out how much they can take back. My union steward thought they could only go back 90days, but couldn't find the language in the central states book. Does anyone know what the ruling is on a matter of this magnitude?

It all starts as I was a full time driver,, with full progression (10years), and decided to take the clerk position that opened up inside the building. I never really looked at my checks in detail, only to check if they were in my bank account (direct deposit) each week. Since I'm on a straight 40hr work week, my checks were always the same. No need to check. Now, I'm already getting $300 less a week, so I figured my scale was adjusted. Then yesterday they inform me that it was not, by some clerical error it was never changed , either in payroll, or management, or wherever. Now they say I have been receiving $5 an hr more than I was entitled, and they are trying to figure out what amount I owe them.

This is in no way my fault, or responsibility. I was never informed upon taking this new job of a pay rate difference, nor explained anything about the position. In fact, they were so mad I took the job (I was a good bonus driver) that they made me wait 6 weeks (and file a grievance) to start the job. Then I was trained by a part time person who was covering. So I had no knowledge that they were screwing up, but now I'm into it for like 10 grand. What is anyone's suggestion, or does anyone know what the definite answer is on this situation? Thanks all!

"No way my fault or responsibility" that you took a position that you had no clue of it's duties or pay?

It never crossed your mind to maybe,just maybe, ask?

Dub Brown Eye

"No way my fault or responsibility" that you took a position that you had no clue of it's duties or pay?