Package handler options

Dale1978

I have been working as a package handler for 18 months now and am starting to believe I am unable to continue with the job. I was a bit older when I was hired and my body just doesn't seem to be able to keep up with the demands of it.
I have gone to the company doctor and they cannot find anything wrong with me. My plan is to give notice and find something else less physically demanding but did wonder if there are any other options.
I enjoy UPS and its benefits but just can't keep up.
Any tips?
Thanks

billerz

Slowing down your pace should help a lot. Sign the bid sheets to transfer positions if they do that in your area.

Dale1978

Thanks for your replies guys. I did have a work related injury a few months back. I was on light duty for three months but have been released by the doctor. My hip continues to hurt and I am worried I am wrecking my body.
If I did go to a non UPS doctor what would happen if they did discover an injury. Would I be able to challenge the UPS doctors?
I would love to be able to slow down the pace but any time I do I have my supervisor on my tail. What would happen if I just ignored him? Would I be fired?
Oh, I am 38 and not really interested in a full time driving job due to family obligations.

km3

Thanks for your replies guys. I did have a work related injury a few months back. I was on light duty for three months but have been released by the doctor. My hip continues to hurt and I am worried I am wrecking my body.
If I did go to a non UPS doctor what would happen if they did discover an injury. Would I be able to challenge the UPS doctors?
I would love to be able to slow down the pace but any time I do I have my supervisor on my tail. What would happen if I just ignored him? Would I be fired?
Oh, I am 38 and not really interested in a full time driving job due to family obligations.