Pas system

M

muncher

I work in a large center that is about to get the new pas system in. There are lots of rumors and questions from all the preloaders and nobody seems to haveany answers. There are a few points I need info on. One is that we have heard that once the system is in place loaders who were one loading 3 or 4 package cars now will have to load 6 cars, I load 3 cars now and can barly keep up, I don;t even look at mt alpha charts since I have been loading the same cars for 4 years, also heard that the will move the loaders all around the building, this will suck for me and my coworkers because we all work really good togather, also heard that we will have more time and lighter flow because thay have to but stickers on all the packages. Also heard alot of people are quiting because of the bigger work load.
need some answers
Is the union doing anything to protect the workers rights?

J

jeff

PAS was implemented 3 months ago in our center. Our work group went from 6 preloaders to 4, yet kept the 2 part-time sup's(who are both working 10x harder). The preloaders are expected to load 1 pkg every 11 seconds! The boxes pile up before there start time and boxes are getting damaged much more often.
The EDD system works awesome IF everything goes according to plan! The biggest problem is the wrong label going on the wrong box. This means you could have a box with a PAL label for your route, but goes anywhere in the bldg and will be missed. You are told as a driver not to look thru your load and to get in your truck and go! So these missed pkgs can be NDA. I have had more missed pkgs in 1 week than in the 19 years I have been with the company.