Pension question

Discussion in 'UPS Retirement Topics' started by Brandon Whitworth, Apr 4, 2019.

1. Brandon Whitworth

Brandon Whitworth New Member

I’m a 13 year driver on the west coast. I’m thinking of resigning and running my body shop full time. Does anyone know if I can roll my pension into my own 401k or IRA?

2. rod

rod retired and happy

If you only have 13 years in what little pension you have you won't be able to get at for years. Contrary to what some believe you don't just quit and the pension check is in your mailbox the next day.

3. rod

rod retired and happy

If that's your real name management at your center will know tomorrow that you are thinking of hanging it up. Not a good thing for them to know.

4. Brandon Whitworth

5. Brandon Whitworth

They already know I own a body shop. I’m in the fact gathering stage. I want to gather all the facts then present them to my financial planner.

6. rod

rod retired and happy

I would suggest talking to someone qualified to answer your questions. Seriously-you won't find anyone like that on here-- espically this time of night. I seriously doubt you will be able to take control of your future pension now. I fact I would say no way. Why would anybody give you the money now when they can play with it until you are qualified to get it? I will upgrade my answer to --HELL NO you won't be able to do what you want to with your money.

7. rod

rod retired and happy

good luck

8. rod

rod retired and happy

and good night

9. DELACROIX

DELACROIX In the Spirit of Honore' Daumier

Nope..You can not roll your traditional pension plan into an individual 401K or IRA...Once you are vested (over 5 years) you have to wait till age 65 or reach the eligible service time required in the West for early retirement (generally 25 years)..If you retire prior to age 65 with any service years your pension is reduced six percent for every year prior to age 65..You are half way there, tough it out...