Pregnancy Females?

brownieworker

I know a lot of you are men, but does anyone have any experience with this at UPS? lol I am a PT'r I am scared to tell them I am pregnant and have a weight constriction because I have heard of stories of having no light duty work. Then what? STD. When does that run out. Any chance I could lose my job? Any Females in here? I'm stressing out here.

bigbrownhen

I worked up until the end of my 8th month. I am a driver though, not a loader and had no restrictions. There are others here who have done it as well as loaders. The short-term disability lasts 6 mos to my knowledge. Check with your local, they can give you the info there. The bennifits are different for a high risk pregnancy vs a normal one I think.

Is this a high risk pregnancy? If so, then of course you have to be careful, and go on disability. Follow your doctors advice. If not, if you do the work safely, then you can work quite awhile. Just watch your lifting. It is amazing how much we use our tummies for lifting.

The most important thing is to take care of yourself and the little one. Everything else will work out one way or another.

dillweed

Congratulations, mom-to-be!

Although I have never experienced pregnancy at UPS I have known several who have. One woman worked probably into her 8th month as a preloader. Another left work as soon as she knew she was expecting. Most don't stay for the duration as it's such strenuous work.

bigbrownhen offered great advice, especially to take care of yourself and the baby.

Your doctor will help you determine any restrictions and should be glad to provide paperwork for the company.