Stepped down as a cover driver, can I still go 22.4?

Whitelightning1534

Hello all, I was a cover driver for the past year. I started in peak season of 2017. I never went through any 30 day probation. I basically ran clean up and bulk for that first month. After peak was over, I was told that I was a cover driver but I was laid off for most of the following year and just worked preload. Whenever I was called to drive, I basically just did junk routes or bulk.

This last peak arrived and I was immediately thrown on a tough route with over 500 pieces. I couldn’t find packages all day and I struggled mightily. I felt like I was set up to fail because I never went on a 30 day training route. I ended up dropping out of cover driving because I felt like I was under performing. I was overwhelmed with the amount of work and lack of training.

I had to sign paperwork stating my withdrawal of cover driving and it stated that I can’t bid for this position again for a year or two? Apparently I am still an air driver and will sometimes deliver air after preload. Does anyone know if I can bid on 22.4 when it goes live and if I am able to, will I be red circled at my air rate ? I know that cover drivers get to keep their rate since it’s higher than the $20 that 22.4 start out at. My air rate is $28 by the way.

Thanks for the help fellow teamsters !