Up or Down???

So, I've been working for UPS for 3 months now. I started back in July as a preloader and was then moved to pick-off and I was told today that I am being moved to the route slide and part time clerk and then in December, I will become a full time clerk and drop the route slide... I'm just curious what the intentions of my supervisors are. Is this a promotion of sorts? Or am I just moving sideways? Can anyone who has clerked or worked on the route slide give me some info on what I can expect or how routing compares to being a pick off?

D

Dis-organized Labor

So, I've been working for UPS for 3 months now. I started back in July as a preloader and was then moved to pick-off and I was told today that I am being moved to the route slide and part time clerk and then in December, I will become a full time clerk and drop the route slide... I'm just curious what the intentions of my supervisors are. Is this a promotion of sorts? Or am I just moving sideways? Can anyone who has clerked or worked on the route slide give me some info on what I can expect or how routing compares to being a pick off?

In my experience, it is a sign that "they" want to see what you can do, how quick you can catch on, and your "true" work ethic.
There may be a difficult assignment coming your way. That is by design. Stay the course and stay focussed on the end result. Take risks, but advise your Sup as to what you want to attempt.
Believe it or not, in the good old days, people like you rose to become CEO. Those days may/my not be over, but if you're sincere and driven to achieving results, you could have a very successful, albeit frustrating and demending, career.
UPS is not for everyone.

Regards & Best Of Luck:

D.O.L.:peaceful: