Using hub workers to deliver packages

cylvrbond

I am a cover driver. I was recently sent back to the hub for a month. I drove the last two weeks and now im scheduled to go back to the hub next week. Since October the hub has been using onon-drivers to deliver packages. Drivers have to shuttle packages out to storage containers and hub workers are delivering the packages in golf carts for 9.50 an hour. It takes them 2 to 3 times longer to deliver them than one driver. In the long run it seems it would cost the company more money this way than to have a cover driver deliver them. Do I have a grievence?

cylvrbond

Three times while I was back in the unload they actually had me drive after I unloaded trailers. I shuttled the packages out to storage bins where hub workers then deliver them with golf carts. One was actually in an apartment complex where the guy delivers them in his own vehicle.

Mike Hawk

Here they are doing that with bicycles instead of golf carts, the trailers they pull are thin sheet metal, maybe 50 lbs max if there are no big bumps. I can't figure out how some helper off the street will be able to figure out how to deliver unsupervised by a driver. They have to plan out their "route", what they will take each trip, figure out the streets etc. Not to mention a bike with a big trailer does not belong on the sidewalk so the liability of the helper pedaling down the side of the road, untrained on proper bicycle traffic rules will be huge. To my knowledge they haven't used them yet, they are just siting around.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Our mall driver has a helper and a trailer. He parks the trailer and the helper delivers out of the trailer and then they work together for the number of hours that he is allowed to use his helper.

Lobofan5

I have been 'cover' driving for 6 months now. Im still a preload employee. I know 'cover' drivers from our preload that have been 'cover' driving for more than 18 months.

No bids in site.

No job security.

Bubblehead