Vacation days??

OG MIKE

I have been working for ups for a couple of months now and no one explained to me how vacation days work at ups. Do I get a week payed vacation for every year I have worked? or can I just ask for vacation days after a certain amount of time I have worked ther? I'll ask my supervisor eventually I just never get the chance,we are always busy.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

I have been working for ups for a couple of months now and no one explained to me how vacation days work at ups. Do I get a week payed vacation for every year I have worked? or can I just ask for vacation days after a certain amount of time I have worked ther? I'll ask my supervisor eventually I just never get the chance,we are always busy.

A week for every year?? Does that mean I get 23 weeks off?

You have to have worked here for a year before you get to take vacations, which start at two weeks and increase by 1 week every 5 years up to a maximum of 6 weeks. Some regions have an optional week which they are allowed to break up in to separate days or take collectively as one week. As with everything else, vacations are selected by seniority order by classification so basically your choices will be limited until you gain seniority. You are paid for your vacation two weeks before you take it.

UPSGUY72

Your Now a permanent UPS employee ask for a copy of the contract read it. You can read the national master agreement under Union issues on BC. Do a search online for your local supplement.

You can go to UPS Contracts and Supplements | Teamsters for a Democratic Union but the supplement and riders listed there are only partial.

Under the New England Supplement you get

1 years = 1 weeks
2 years = 2 weeks
10 years = 3 weeks
15 years = 4 weeks
20 years = 5 weeks
25 years = 6 weeks

You can also combine a combination of 5 days from your 5 sick days and 3 personal days into another week. For another week of vacation.

OG MIKE