"You can't cut your way to growth"

Limper

Out For Delivery
This quote by Jeff Bezos the founder of Amazon was said to Washington Post employees, the newspaper
he acquired recently. I am interested in your opinions as it relates to the current situation at UPS.

As a driver I haven't been subjected to the cuts, enhancements or other changes (maybe safe driving
anniversary awards being one) that the "partners" have, which is why I posted here.

The phrase "shrinking to greatness" originated here. Can growth and cuts be talked about in the same
​conversation?

brownmonster

Man of Great Wisdom
Very simple. People at the bottom spend their money. People at the top stockpile it. Give a guy at the bottom an extra 100 bucks a week it goes into the economy. Give a rich guy an extra 100 bucks a week it goes into his portfolio. Our country is not run by the guy on the bottom.

DS

Fenderbender
Monster speaks the truth.
Some corporations put effort into insuring that corporate decisions involving cuts
are well thought out,and generally do not involve the well being of it's employees.
Not at ups.They must sit around a table drinking expensive bourbon and try to decide
how to get richer.In my opinion,raising rates to customers is a bad move.
Improve morale and increase production.
​Quality wins over quantity every time,

Monster speaks the truth.
Some corporations put effort into insuring that corporate decisions involving cuts
are well thought out,and generally do not involve the well being of it's employees.
Not at ups.They must sit around a table drinking expensive bourbon and try to decide
how to get richer.In my opinion,raising rates to customers is a bad move.
Improve morale and increase production.
​Quality wins over quantity every time,
what company do you work for?????. That will never happen at brown! Those days are long over!

preload1

This quote by Jeff Bezos the founder of Amazon was said to Washington Post employees, the newspaper