Anybody out there doing something different to save money on gas???

stevetheupsguy

sʇǝʌǝʇɥǝndsƃnʎ
First thread for me. Wanted to know if anyone out there in brown is doing anything differently these days to save money on gas. Have you changed where you travel to, shop or the length of your commute?
About 2 years ago I started riding my bike to work, one or two days a week, just for the exercise of it all. As gas prices increased I added days to my commute. I'm now at the point where I ride my bike 5-6 days a week and use my SUV one day. I ride about 26 miles round trip each day. I have noticed other people in my community doing the same thing. I've calculated my savings and figure I'm saving about $250.00 a month. That's at $3.80/gal. I've also lost weight, cholesterol points and feel like I did at 19 years old. The local news did a segment on me. So I'm wondering, what others are doing differently to save cash.

BTW, I do ride rain or shine on the days I ride, barring the occasional Hurricane or Tropical storm.:happy-very:

omgitsnick

i just take it easy on the pedal and but gas cards that save me 10cents a gallon. also giant eagle for gift cards to use for their fuel perks.:happy2:

Big Babooba

I used to bicycle to work. Sometimes I even walked home If somebody had given me a ride in that day. The distance was about 4 1/2 miles each way. I actually got there faster on the bike than in a car because there was a bridge I took near our building that was closed to motor vehicles. Everybody else had to cross the river on the interstate. The bridge was taken down and that ended my bicycle commute because now the only way to get thayah from heyah is to take the interstate.

over9five

Staff member
Cool news story, Steve. I have done nothing to limit my gas consumption.

35 miles each way to work, no way I'm pedaling!

B

brown observer