Being Pushed out the door.

Discussion in 'UPS Union Issues' started by Andy Watmore, Dec 31, 2014.

1. Andy Watmore

Andy Watmore New Member

First of all i have been working for ups for about 7 months on the evening shift, then decided i wanted to work the morning shift because it would be better for my personal life as i have two daughters to look after aswell as a type one diabetic partner. I did a week of the split shift which didnt go well as the sleeping patterns so messed up one day, but the rest of the week was alright. was then told i was wanted on the shift. But couldnt do another week due to my daughters being ill. I was then told that i could transfer over on the monday which was great news. the come tuesday morning i slept past my alarm and rung them straight away. was then told i have lost my chances of that shift and got the sack... I now have a hearing on the 5th and no idea what to do or say at the meeting. And i havent signed up to the union... Please help... I feel like they have pushed my down so bad...

2. upschuck

upschuck Avatar bet gone wrong

Grievance hearing or panel? You missed one day, and they want to fired you? Doesn't sound right to me. Fortunate for you, unfortunate for those who paid for that, you should have representation for that hearing. Go in, tell your side, and if you truly only missed the one day, you should be fine and resume working, because they didn't go through he proper discipline process.

And when you get your job back, join the union.

3. clean hairy

clean hairy Well-Known Member

Sir or maam, hope you figure it!
    You chose NOT to join the union, and want the union to help you now?
    You get the level of representation you paid for.
    Good luck!

• Winner Winner x 5
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  4. Mike hunt

Mike hunt Guest

You need to join the union asap. Freeloading isn't the right thing to do.

5. Funfact

Funfact Well-Known Member