Feeder Driver position questions?

Bound2Drive

Work hard, then work harder.
Hello, I am a FedEx Freight Road Driver which is comparable to a UPS "Brown" Feeder Driver, or so I have been told. I have caught wind on the hiring spree UPS has been doing with bringing in potential off the street guys. I am in the Indianapolis area and I know that it is a decent size hub which may make it tough to get on straight off the street.

I have a couple people I know that did it in areas where the job posting says "Full-time/Temporary/Seasonal, and have made it off the street bypassing that temp/seasonal right into full-time/perm. I applied in Indy and after I submitted an app and time schedule for an interview it said "This is a Temporary Full-time Seasonal Feeder position working from Oct. to Dec. 40+ hours a week to cover high peak volume. must be flexible with hours which will be ON CALL.

Is it possible to get on without being temp/seasonal like the other people in different buildings have done or no? Also there are some posting on UPSjobs where it just says Full-time Tractor Trailer Driver, no temp/seasonal in the posting at all. Those postings are in different states but I am determined to become a part of the UPS "Brown" team as a Feeder Driver so the move is possible.

At FedEx Freight I pull doubles to and from service centers/terminals about 131 to 250 miles away and then work the dock for 5 hours and head back to my original domicile. So I am used to Monday night to Saturday morning work 14 hours each night. I am 27 years old and just got married and would like to have a child but with FedEx Freight, the pay, benefits, and time to get to days, with what you give up and the little received here, make the journey to the top long and arduous and hard on a family trying to make it. Reasons to go Brown stack up easily over the reasons to stay.