Forever a swing driver?

eyellaw44

Just got a bid route after being a swing driver for 9 years. Of course it is a route that nobody wanted mainly because it is eaten every monday. I was still happy to finally have a steady route even if it meant on mondays I am still a swing driver. The problem as of late is that now my route is being eliminated on thursdays and fridays also. I am basically in a worse spot than before. At least when I was a swing driver I could sign up for vacation coverage and know what I was running for the whole week. The most ridiculous part is that they are eating my bid route and putting in spit routes instead. I would think all bid routes would have to be in before a split route would be in, but not in my case. Has anyone had a similar problem or maybe know what I could do? I am completely frustrated with my sorry excuse for a management team.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

It sounds as though you may be out of luck. They are free to cut bid runs and create split runs. You are allowed to follow 50% or more of your work--if they are splitting your run in to 3 or more areas you would then go back to being a cover driver. At least you are working every day.

eyellaw44