How easy is it to get fired?

I am a new hire, and unfortunately, because of when I started, I hit the freeze on getting my 30 days. This means, I have a few months without any kind of security during peak season.

I've only been at UPS for about a week, and today was my first day fully on the floor. (Last week was mostly safety training). I'm still learning to navigate the hub without getting lost. I spent last week loading up the package cars. Today, I did sorting in two different areas (loading the boxline and working as a flipper on the sort line). I was sent home early (but I was told Monday is the slowest day, and I'm sure I'll make up for it in several weeks when things pick up for the holidays.

Needless to say, I'm not the fastest worker. I am trying to cut myself slack because I AM new, and even though the concepts are easy enough, it might take me a little time to get up to speed with everyone else.

I'm just a little worried that they'll decide that I'm not cut out for the position and decide to let me go. I do enjoy my job- especially after my previous position was such a disaster- and I don't want to screw anything up. Is there anything I can to to improve so I can make sure I keep my job?

DieHardUPSER

They need people for peak. Show up every day and on time. Ask to work doubles over peak if you can. Minimize missorts and work as fast as safely possible. Also, don't steal or lie. If you still get fired then the job was not right for you.

burrheadd

KING Of GIFS
I am a new hire, and unfortunately, because of when I started, I hit the freeze on getting my 30 days. This means, I have a few months without any kind of security during peak season.