OMS here... my UPS story. (3 years in)

Senor Forum

First things first, my name is Alex, and I've been with UPS for 3 years.

I started off as a seasonal driver helper, and got called back right after Christmas to load.

I started loading an area, and did that for 8 months.

One of the fulltime supervisors in the back kept bugging me to go into management (needlessly said, a mistake). I finally agreed, took the test, and became a part time preload sup.

After working on 2 metro and the outbound, they made me an OMS (early morning shift).

I enjoy the job at times, but for the most part it's making me completely miserable.

I really just wish I would have stayed an hourly.

I've seen over 20 of the people I've trained (none have been there as long as myself) go into driving ahead of me (I've been putting in my letter for like 2 years).

All of my friends there are drivers/loaders, because I can't STAND any of the management guys.

I just stick out like a sore thumb. I don't belong in that freaking position.

And of course, working in the office allows me to see the inner workings, and the ridiculous corruption.

Anyone else STUCK like I am?

-Alex

:biting:

Harley Rider

34 yrs & done!
Sorry to hear of your situation Alex. I guess that is why most people on here discourage people from going into p/t supervision or OMS when they ask. I have seen too many people in our center come and go just like you. The ones that stayed a p/t sup thought they would be fast tracking into driving when they actually sealed their own fate of staying p/t.

Management here promises them the chance of driving but then won't follow through. That means they would have to train another person to do the p/t work. Too much time involved plus having to find a person to hire. We don't exactly have many people lining up to be a p/t sup. Even less want to go into friend/t management.

Don't have an answer for your dilemma but wish you the best.

BCFan