Taking a day off

mixyo

Dispatcher
Kind of a stupid question, I know, but I'm still relatively new to UPS and believe it or not, this is my first real job. So what exactly is the procedure for taking a day or toe off of work? Do I simply have to talk with my supervisor, or is there some mind of formal procedure that needs to take place?

Kind of a stupid question, I know, but I'm still relatively new to UPS and believe it or not, this is my first real job. So what exactly is the procedure for taking a day or toe off of work? Do I simply have to talk with my supervisor, or is there some mind of formal procedure that needs to take place?

How long have you bee n working at UPS? Do you have any sick or personal days?

bleedinbrown58

That’s Craptacular
Check your paystub, any sick time will be listed there. I'm assuming you haven't worked there long enough to get any personal days yet ( less than a year). Regardless of whether you have sick days, if you made book, you can call in sick...just won't get paid. I would ask a coworker what the procedure is for calling in.

cynic

Where I work the PT sup's can't make any decisions on giving people a day off - paid or otherwise. Always has to go up through the FT sup.

One suggestion is asking your PT sup for a day off well in advance of when you want/need it and if you get sent to talk to the FT sup just go in "hat in hand" and ask them if they can help you with a problem, you would appreciate it if you could be given a day off on <DATE> as you have a personal matter to attend to. Could you have the day off please? It puts them in the mindset of helping you vs. giving you something. Just sayin...

Or... you can always call in sick.

UPSGUY72

If you need a couple (2) just calling sick at least one hr before your shift starts. Just tell your booking off or you won't be in they don't need to know why. Then on the day your coming back to work call one hr before your shift starts and tell them your booking back on.