Why is there such hatred between Ground and Express drivers here?

xFed

I don't understand why there seems to be so much hatred between the Ground/HD and Express drivers on this forum. As drivers, we are ALL getting screwed by FedEx (in different ways, but screwed nevertheless).

I'm a swing driver at express and have always gotten along with the ground drivers in the areas I cover. We wave to each other when driving by, and say hi when we're at the same stops. I have always had the same experience with UPS drivers and USPS letter carriers as well. We are all out there doing [basically] the same thing, so why would I hate you?

While I dislike the way FedEx is running [a.k.a. destroying] the company, I am not going to take that out on the driver; so what's the deal here? What am I missing?

Route 66

Slapped Upside-da-Head Member
I don't really believe there's any actual hatred. It's the internet. Ya have to take this stuff with a grain of salt. We have some personalities here that clash, but I still don't think there's hatred there.

It's a little bit like reality TV, you have to be able to separate what's real from the scripted drama

It's a good way to blow off steam. And if that's all it ever accomplishes - is that such a bad thing?

bbsam

Staff member
I would concur with 66. Hatred is far too strong a word for anything I feel. Some say they hate everything Ground, but they grudgingly admit that it is the future of FDX. The company has changed and much of it not for the good of employees. It is what it is.

oldngray

nowhere special
I think it is lack of respect for Ground because many of their drivers come across as less professional. Not all are that way. I got a Ground delivery today and I knew the driver from when he ran same area as my UPS route and he is a very good worker. By contrast he also owns another route his cousin runs and he has to constantly go help out his cousin who just can't get it done.

MAKAVELI