working alone

UPSmechanicinblue

Anyone help with this? My work hours where changed last summer from 4pm to 6pm. I'm a mechanic in a small center so from 10pm or 11 pm I work alone until 2 a.m. Some one from region changed these work hours and may have to use the grievance procedure. Another center tried to fight it but lost. I don't know what all he filed under, or what was discussed etc. I want to be sure to use every thing I can when and if I have to. Numerous people have slipped on ice and fell, I'm under package cars on jack stands, torching, welding etc wife also fears of maybe a heart attach(4 people when know had one in last 3 months) could occur or anything could happen being alone. Friday nights I would be alone until 3 or 4 a.m before someone returns. I would understand new hours if they had a reason to support the center, cars are available 24 7 to be worked on. Please give me contract things such as Articles like safety is the up most importance.Thanks

rod

Retired 22 years
Anyone help with this? My work hours where changed last summer from 4pm to 6pm. I'm a mechanic in a small center so from 10pm or 11 pm I work alone until 2 a.m. Some one from region changed these work hours and may have to use the grievance procedure. Another center tried to fight it but lost. I don't know what all he filed under, or what was discussed etc. I want to be sure to use every thing I can when and if I have to. Numerous people have slipped on ice and fell, I'm under package cars on jack stands, torching, welding etc wife also fears of maybe a heart attach(4 people when know had one in last 3 months) could occur or anything could happen being alone. Friday nights I would be alone until 3 or 4 a.m before someone returns. I would understand new hours if they had a reason to support the center, cars are available 24 7 to be worked on. Please give me contract things such as Articles like safety is the up most importance.Thanks