Worried about my back

yoyoyo

I've been loading trucks for several months now, and I'm starting to get back pains every few days. I am thinking of buying a back brace or something. Anyone have suggestions? What else should I look into?

Thanks

J

jibbs

Recurring back pains? Go see a doctor.

Sore back? Stretch before and after work, get that back brace and use it.

Getting enough sleep is important, as well. If you don't get enough sleep, your body won't have a chance to heal the strain that package handling seems to be putting on it. Stay hydrated. Your body runs on water, man-- without it, you're pretty much :censored2:ed.

So yeah, to sum it up, water, stretch and sleep. Pretty simple stuff provided you've got the patience and the time to let your body show you just how durable it is.

Last edited by a moderator:

bleedinbrown58

That’s Craptacular
I've been loading trucks for several months now, and I'm starting to get back pains every few days. I am thinking of buying a back brace or something. Anyone have suggestions? What else should I look into?

Thanks
Make sure you are lifting properly. Get a back brace...stretch before work, take Advil and stop being a :censored2:.

oldngray

nowhere special
For most people back braces really don't help much. Stretching does help and so do anti-inflammatory drugs like ibuprophin but I agree lifting properly is the most important thing.

bleedinbrown58

That’s Craptacular
There really is a difference between "boohoo I'm sore" and concern for your own safety.

People with the "don't be a wuss" attitude are likely the same ones who end up having physical problems down the line.
There is a difference between having a sore back and joints.... and an actual injury. If you injury yourself...you usually know it. You do this job enough years....repetitive motion injuries are practically unavoidable. Wah...his back hurts. My knee and ankles hurt...doesn't make me special.

J

jibbs