Best way to find work as a Fedex Ground Driver?

Chrisgol14

Just recently got approved a Ground Driver and am currently having my uncle (owns his own contracting business) and my previous boss from when i was a driver helper assist me in finding a contractor that is looking for drivers. I don't see alot of FDX Ground listings on job boards like indeed,glassdoor ,etc.. Is Going to the terminal and asking around the ONLY way to find work?

I'm in the san fernando valley in los angeles. If that makes any difference.

Last edited:

SmithBarney

bacha29

Just recently got approved a Ground Driver and am currently having my uncle (owns his own contracting business) and my previous boss from when i was a driver helper assist me in finding a contractor that is looking for drivers. I don't see alot of FDX Ground listings on job boards like indeed,glassdoor ,etc.. Is Going to the terminal and asking around the ONLY way to find work?

You'll eventually find one but when you look at what is being offered in the way of pay and given that you live in an area with one of the highest if not the highest cost of living in the nation then question is how will you survive on it?

It will be fine

The admins that process your info in the Fedex system can ask around. They process drivers for all the contractors and will know who is hiring. They typically know their counterparts in nearby stations and can ask them who's looking as well. I'm sure someone is hiring and a driver that is already approved shouldn't have a problem finding work.

Chrisgol14

You'll eventually find one but when you look at what is being offered in the way of pay and given that you live in an area with one of the highest if not the highest cost of living in the nation then question is how will you survive on it?

Im living with my dad right now. Were just planning on sticking together since LA is so disgustingly expensive. Im still pretty young. The only issue is getting a contractor with benefits.

bacha29