Calling out 6th punch - peak season - holiday pay

542thruNthru

I'm a T-S driver. I won't be showing up Christmas Eve. They can't force me to show up. Any discipline won't stick. I've already told my dispatch, center manager, and ORs to not plan on seeing me on Mondays during peak. If they want me to work 14 hour days T-S, then great.

What if they switch your schedule to M-friend. Which is what they do to everyone here during peak.

JL 0513

Lol. Drivers in my center did it last year. So it's possible.

You're telling me drivers worked 'til midnight 5 straight days? C'mon man.

We would never be allowed to stay out past 10.

How do you drive until midnight and start again at 9am the next day? 10 hour rule?

JustDeliverIt

Once peak starts they will make everyone Mon-Friday and force from the bottom up a 6th punch. At least that's how they are going to do it in my building.

I was T-S last peak and this is what they did to us. The week of Thanksgiving they told us that we are all M-friend starting the next week. And then Saturday forced from the bottom up. I think they ran every route in our center 6 days a week all of December except for the top 2 or 3 drivers.

bumped

Why do you need all these Monday's off? Even those of us on the regular M-friend schedule have to work Saturdays all of December.

oh hell no. Never worked a Saturday and never will as long as my supplement states I can turn down a 6th or 7th punch.

bumped

hey all I’m new here.

Hate to be so specific, but ups made it super clear that I was a Tuesday through Saturday, after I got a warning letter for calling out two Saturdays in a row last year because they can’t find coverage. (They ran 9 trips with 9 drivers no extras).

So this coming peak season, Christmas Eve is on a Monday. Clearly for the next eight weeks they’re going to “force” us to come in on 6th punches. If I call out Christmas Eve (my 6 punch), do I still get holiday pay for Christmas Day?