Driver fired last year but no replacement?

Discussion in 'UPS Union Issues' started by Zepphead33, Feb 15, 2017.

1. Zepphead33

Zepphead33 New Member

Ive been working pt mornings since late 2013. Since then ive been waiting to be a ft driver. Ive done seasonal driving. But last year a woman was fired and nobody was hired after she was fired, so it kinda made me frustrated. Now a porter guy retired and a driver signed the bid and won it. I suppose there will be a bid for his route? But im assuming another driver will take it. Will i get hired as a driver since the driver who took the porter bid is out?

2. MC4YOU2

MC4YOU2 Wherever I see Trump, it smells like he's Putin.

That depends on a few things. First where are you in the 6/1 rotation of pt/street hires to FT? Is there a more senior pt employee ahead of you who might want that driver spot?

Also, yes you'd think they'd bid the drivers route out that went to Porter, but that depends on current volume, number of routes needed on a regular basis, how deep the current pool of drivers is, etc.

3. Zepphead33

Zepphead33 New Member

Not sure in the 6/1 ratio. And nobody ahead of me in seniority wants to drive. And the porter bid just came down last friday. Im assuming his route will be posted sometime this or next week. Our center probably has anywhere from 10 to 13 thousands packages everyday. Im just getting frustrated after waiting 4 years.

4. Brownslave688

Brownslave688 You want a toe? I can get you a toe.

3+ years here and you don't have a clue how this works?

[​IMG]

• Funny Funny x 3
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  5. BrownInTx

BrownInTx Member

Wait for list to be posted. Then sign the Damm thing. If you have seniority you got it.

6. Zepphead33

Zepphead33 New Member

Im only pt. Im sure a cover driver or somebody ft will win the bid before me

7. MC4YOU2

MC4YOU2 Wherever I see Trump, it smells like he's Putin.