Drivers with J-Pouch?

U

uber

I've been working at UPS for about 5 years now and have wanted to become a driver and I think I'm pretty close seniority wise. In late April I had to get my colon removed because of a sudden case of Ulcerative Colitis. I was wondering if anyone had heard of a driver with the disease, similar IBD like symptoms, or a jpouch and if they could work their job successfully. I've heard that its go, go, go when your on your route, is there no opportunity for quick bathroom breaks if need be?

Thanks in advance.

over9five

Staff member
Of course you can make quick bathroom breaks! One of the best things about my route is the amount of bathrooms available.

browniehound

I've been working at UPS for about 5 years now and have wanted to become a driver and I think I'm pretty close seniority wise. In late April I had to get my colon removed because of a sudden case of Ulcerative Colitis. I was wondering if anyone had heard of a driver with the disease, similar IBD like symptoms, or a jpouch and if they could work their job successfully. I've heard that its go, go, go when your on your route, is there no opportunity for quick bathroom breaks if need be?

Thanks in advance.

Ouch, my friend it depends on the route. There are many routes that are many miles away from any public bathrooms and there are some that have 100's of toilets within the route. The only way you could do the job is if you had some sort of medical device that allowed you to take care of business inside of the truck. I'm serious because there are many, many more of the routes that are many miles from toilets more than there are ones close to 100's of them.

It sounds like you are in a tough spot...

satellitedriver

If you are telling the truth, then this job is not for you.
Rarely is Ulcerative Colitis treated by immediate removal of the colon.
Many other treatments are performed before such a radical procedure.
Sadly, I have had too much experience with colon disease.