Fixing trace problems in EDD

AKCoverMan

As a cover driver I see trace problems on most of the routes I cover. The regular drivers are used to these hickups in the route and just deliver the stops in the order that makes sense rather than the route in EDD.

What process do you use in your center to get problems in EDD cleaned up?

upsdude

Welcome to Brown Cafe!!

The dispatch sup is supposed to fix these problems. The dispatch sup in my center doesn't and will not fix any trace issues. He would rather say he did fix it and the computer changed it all by it's self.

soberups

Pees in the brown Koolaid
One solution...which is rather brutal yet highly effective...is to just turn your brain completely off, forsake all logic and common sense, and run the route strictly according to EDD with NO deviation from the trace. The route will fail of course, but at least you will be able to point to EDD and proudly claim to have run 100%. You can then offer to continue to run 100% and let your mangement team decide what they want to do. Usually, this approach will help your management team to develop and maintain the "sense of urgency" they need to make the necessary corrections to your route in a timely manner. If one day doesnt do the trick, two or three almost certainly will. It is a safe tactic for the driver to use, because the company is going to have a difficult time imposing disciplinary action towards a driver whose only "crime" is to work 100% as directed.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Unfortunately, as a cover driver, it is not up to you to correct any problems with the DOL. You should pass along any suggestions that you have to the regular driver and let that person take it from there. I would be upset if the cover driver made any changes to my DOL without checking with me first. This is not to say that your input is not valued or that the changes that you would suggest would not be helpful. It is just not your place to change the DOL on a route that is not yours.