Full time driving

Eviloreo

hello fellow UPSers

ive been working at UPS part time for nearly 6 years and finally put my name up for a full time driving position (bid sheet). I am sure most of you know the requirements, no tickets, no traffic violations within (3 years?), pass your state DoT physical etc. etc. -BE ABLE TO DRIVE A MANUAL-.

Luckily i made friend with my coworkers over the years and one offered to teach me how to do it (another part timer who went full time driving). At this point in time, i feel pretty proficient with the basics, given that i am a car theft, i feel i can easily drive his car back to my home.

That said i am still worried about the hiring process, as of now i maybe have 3 hours of total stick shift driving experience. Is this enough to get me into the UPS driving classes (in which i assume i will be exposed to more stick driving with actual UPS package cars)? Also, the biggest thing ive driven up to this point in my life is a minivan, am i kinda out my league in terms of driving experience for a new hire UPS driver? thanks for replys.

CAFAL

First of all,the driving is the easiest part. You need yo know the DOK completely to pass the school. The driving will come. You'll probably be in a different truck everyday when you come out.

OVERBOARD

Don't believe everything you think
I learned to drive a pkg car by delivering Saturday airs. also in my bluiding there are no stick shifts they have all been replaced.

OVERBOARD

Don't believe everything you think
I learned to drive a pkg car by delivering Saturday airs. also in my bluiding there are no stick shifts they have all been replaced.

The new guys have it easy, never knowing that it was like driving those beast with no power steering, have to push the clutch 100 times a day and those 2' steps.

jaker

trolling
The new guys have it easy, never knowing that it was like driving those beast with no power steering, have to push the clutch 100 times a day and those 2' steps.