Hired out of the military questions

Boondocksaint

I got hired as a seasonal driver. Served 7 years army work for the DOD for a few years. Spent 5 years of my life in the Middle East. I had 2 letter of recommendations from 25 year drivers and a military union rep backing me for full time. What are my chances of being kept on? During my on road training I had an Orion manger as my trainer. I thought that was odd. He told me I was hired full time. Nobody has said anything to me and I don't even know if I am doing this job well. Any advice, info, or knowledge anybody could drop on me I would appreciate it. I work hard and I don't play around. I just wanna know where I stand.

watdaflock?

First off, thank you for your service. As for getting hired, get contact info for the Union hall bosses and even the stewards at your hub. I'd say if you see union fee's being deducted from pay, you're hired.

Last edited:

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

First of all, as a fellow vet, I would like to thank you for your service.

Here at UPS the lack of feedback, while frustrating, is actually a good thing, as they would be quick to tell you if you were not meeting their standards.

It sounds as though the Orion manager may be right.

P

pickup

Ups is committed to hiring veterans . Ups is part of Michelle Obama's initiative to have companies hire vets coming out of the services. I don't think it takes a rocket scientist to figure out that a vet generally has a better work ethic than the average bear so it's good for business to hire them.

That much being said, they can only hire you if they need an extra body after peak. Your manager might have jumped the gun in saying you were hired full time. His intention might be that but it ain't a reality until you get enough time in. And that time isn't accrued during peak.

Good luck!

trickpony1

Ups is part of Michelle Obama's initiative to have companies hire vets coming out of the services.