Interviewed for a full-time, temporary, seasonal Package Delivery Driver

shafner79

They said I would work part time in pre load, and be a relief driver for vacations and peak season. What are the chances of turning this into a true FULL time position. I have been a delivery driver in the past and had my own dedicated route delivering used car parts (mostly engines and transmissions).

What are the average hours a week for pre load? I would love to get my foot in the door at UPS and am just looking for some more, helpful info.

Thanks!!

AndUPSER

I get about 23-25 hours on preload but it depends a lot on where you're working at in the building. For example, unloaders here only get about 17 1/2 hours a week. Loading will, in most cases, get you more hours.

The wait time can be anywhere from 6 months to 10 years. It strictly depends on how many drivers they need. You will have to ask someone in the building or give the union hall a call.

fres431

Those are weak locals IMO. In parts of CA there are no seasonal staff with the exception of driver helpers and those are limited to 50% staffing going to current part time ups employees. Granted they still have to take 1 out of ever 7 off the street as drivers. As far as feeders they contract with retires, if there are no more class a drivers with hours then and only then do they go outside teamster family to get class a drivers.

shafner79

Well I had an interview, went back for a road test (did excellent), went back again for DOT physical/medical card. Just waiting on my background check....

Do they ever have relief drivers, drive out of multiple HUB's? I live about equal distance from 3 different ones. I told them I would drive from any of them.

bleedinbrown58

That’s Craptacular
Well I had an interview, went back for a road test (did excellent), went back again for DOT physical/medical card. Just waiting on my background check....