Is UPS Information Technology worth it for me?

mikegior

Currently I am a full time student at a vocational college during the day, and a part time loader at UPS for Twilight. For a long time, almost as long as I can remember, I've wanted to do networking and security. Since I've graduated high school, I've been attending Anthem Institute (formally known as Chubb) under their Computer Networking & Security program. Over time I've taken advice and information from multiple persons within UPS. People that have had experience in IT with UPS, people that have many years with the company as well as taking advice from my shop steward. Quite frankly, I'm kind of stuck, and I would like advice from people who have worked for I.S./T.S.G. or do work in those departments.

I've tried looking at it from many directions. Taking into consideration my thoughts about it, as well as the advice I've recieved from people that have more knowledge/experience with UPS.

1) Job security: Since I'm in the union (allegedly) I have a decent ammount of protection from losing my job. Which in this economy, who wouldn't like that?

2) Lay offs: My girlfriends father has been with UPS for many years. He's done side work whilst being a driver for IT as well as attained many friends in that department. He's told me the "bad side" to IT with UPS. That bad side is, which I'm sure many of you know, are the lay offs. I've though would that be good for me? To (possibly) be hired, then laid off soon afterwards? I suppose that would just be another entry for the resume.