new cover driver HELP !

cwb425

I am now a cover driver after been in the warehouse for a few years, I have been on the the road with my on road supervisor to learn the route before they let me go, I am having lots of trouble finding anything, is there any advice people can give me ? I understand it just takes time, but its alot harder than I thought. the workload is fine, I can work hard I am just afraid when I am off alone I will get lost and not be able to find my next stop

thanks

any advice and betters ways to learn a new route ?

I am now a cover driver after been in the warehouse for a few years, I have been on the the road with my on road supervisor to learn the route before they let me go, I am having lots of trouble finding anything, is there any advice people can give me ? I understand it just takes time, but its alot harder than I thought. the workload is fine, I can work hard I am just afraid when I am off alone I will get lost and not be able to find my next stop

thanks

By a map of the area and give yourself some time. The first few times are overwhelming because you are just not used to the frenetic work pace. Give yourself some time and don't give up. One stop at a time, one package at a time.

UPSGUY72

thanks

Just take your time and don't rush. Get a good map.

klein

Für Meno :)
Actually, when I got thrown into the "cold water". I came out with a brilliant idea, printed off a few copies of maps from the area. Or photocopy the map out of the book at UPS.
And then go in early enough... and mark your stops with numbers (1 - 50 for example)... It helped me out big time. (look at you packages addresses, and mark them on the printed map accordingly).

It gets you ahead of the game, but also requires a little bit of working off the clock, prior to leaving the buliding and driving.
You'll only need to do that for 3 -5 days, and you'll be fine after that.

Last edited:

Dissident