Newbie here

Johnnyjet

First off I think it is great that there is a forum dedicated to UPS employees. I am new to UPS. After being laid off from my job of 18 years in January and having difficulty finding work I decided to give UPS a try. I have two very young children and there was a possibility my wife's job could be eliminated too so I was thinking health insurance. I have been here two weeks loading trailers at twilight, not easy but at 41 years old even more difficult. I do look young for my age so I don't think many of the people I am working with realize that I have 15-20 years on them.

Not sure what I think right now. Don't like evenings, would rather do mornings but my wife's hours kind of handcuff me. This economy stinks. I am still on unemployment so the pay doesn't really matter right now because it just gets offset by the unemp. benefit. I was sent home a few times this week for light loads and being low man I was the first to go. That's my story, many of you may think I am crazy and at times I do too, but I figure get my foot in the door and you never know. Look forward to chatting you all.

PT Stewie

"Big Fella"
I started @ age 43 as a second job for the benefits also, especially when I had three @ home . Have been working both jobs ever since( 56+ now). Overall UPS is a decent place to work ,you will see a lot of complaints on the website about management-labor relations including from me who is a Union steward. Please make your own judgements. It is bad out there right now I am glad you got a job. When you make union seniority ( 30 days) you have a right to work 3 1/2 hours even if you are low person.You don't have to be a hard ass about it just explain to the sup in a nice way you need the time if you do.
In any case welcome to UPS

Trawr