Part Time Supervisor Questions

Hello,

I have been working at UPS for almost 4 months now, I am 20 years old and I am still going to school. Today my supervisor asked me if I am interested in becoming a part time supervisor. I am new here and want to hear all of your opinions. They told me that there is more of a growing opportunity for a career if I become a supervisor than if I stay loading, and this is what I don't understand. Im new and I don't know much, but it seems to me like the only way to go if i stay working at the hub is to become a driver, and honestly I don't want to be a driver for the rest of my life. Can you guys tell me some other ways I would be able to grow within the company? Is there something I can do after driving? Or is there a different direction I can go in?

My plan, or what I was thinking, was to become a part time supervisor and keep going to school for my engineering degree. But a lot of the posts here make it seem like becoming a part time supervisor is a terrible choice. I have seen 2 part time supervisors become full time since I have been working here, and it doesn't seem like a bad idea to me. But thats why I came here, and that's why I am asking you guys.

Thank you in advance! :happy2:

MethodsMan

Any kind of management job within UPS sounds like an awful idea to me. Too many things out of your control and too many hours.

Stay union.

browntroll

if you truly plan on leaving the company for an engineering job then do it, the pay raise might help with your school stuff.
now if you are asking about UPS as a career choice/long term stay union, and maybe think about why you are really going to school.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

To the OP-----stay in school and pursue the promotion. UPS supervisor will look very good on your resume.

There is a reason that they asked you, with only 4 months experience, if you were interested in becoming a PT sup.