Retaliation

Overpaid Union Thug

We've had an uprise in grievances in our building lately. Even part-timers (are usually not very active in the union here) have been filing. Some are worried about having "targets painted on their backs" for filing. Has anyone on the board had any experience with retaliation? Whether it be directly or just know of someone that has? Guys I used to work with in the building before I was a full-time driver have asked me about this and I don't know the answers. They've asked about management using "dirt" that they have against someone for filing. How far back can management dig to find that dirt on someone. Can they sit on it for months or years before they need it or is there a time limit?

To me the whole idea of retaliation is pathetic. If they wouldn't violate the contract then their employees wouldn't file. It's pure revenge and completely unjustified.

dilligaf

IN VINO VERITAS
Big, where to start.......................

Yes I have experienced retaliation. Alllllll the time. The best advice is to address it head on and immediately. The best way to do that is to file on it. Generally Art. 37NM sect 1. Art. 36NM may apply as well. The sooner this happens the sooner they start figuring out that you aren't going to put up with. It takes time to work but it DOES work.

Anything in our files (within the previous 9 mos) can surreptitiously used against us. Or at least they can try to use it. This is where each individual has to be on their toes. The company has to use progressive discipline except in the case of a cardinal sin. And the discipline has to be given immediately (within 10 days). It can be assumed or said that the company was 'laying in wait', which is a big no no, if they wait any longer.