Rules for calling in newly-seniority, truck loader? Also, entry-level IT?

teemstur

So, I have been seniority for about a month and a half now. Called in once my second week of seniority. Has been 3 weeks since and wondering if it'd be "bad" to call in some time this coming week. I never called in during pre-seniority and right now I'm kind of a "star loader" as the moved me to the heaviest belt in the building and repeatedly tell me that I am "one of the best in the building" (not trying to brag, this is what my PT and FT sup's have told me).

So, would calling in for the second time ever, during my 7th week of seniority, be a bad decision? Have seen a lot of loaders call in 2 times even during pre-sen. and then 3 times after... I don't want to get on the bad side of anyone by calling in again.

Also while I've got people reading this, I'm interested in getting an IT position but don't have any formal certifications. I used to be a technician for a big-box PC store, and I know how to fix damn near any software or hardware problem with computers and networks. Is there any part-time (or FT?) position I can "test" in to at all, or do they all REQUIRE formal certs FULL STOP PERIOD END OF CONVERSATION?

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

So you are planning on being sick "sometime this coming week"? Sounds to me as though you don't really want this job.

Your "Geek Squad" experience is meaningless here as you would be asked to work on servers and other more complex equipment.

Z

ZQXC

Well, well, "star loader", I think you have already found your calling.

Continue to "shine brightly"................