Should I go for it?

abite

I am a Freshman in college, and have been working at UPS (In Wa) for just over a month now. I'm a morning preloader (Gotta love the hours :P) and my supervisor mentioned they're looking for a new supe because one is retiring, and they can't find one. Supposedly they've even considered pulling off the street for one... My question, should I go for the position? my supe said it would be a good option, and I have a decent chance at getting the job as I understand things better than someone off the streets. I could use the extra pay at 16.50 rather than my 11.00 and the tuition reimbursement would cover college tuition... Is it worth it? Thanks!

UPS4Life

Are you planning on being here long term like a career or just to earn some cash through college? If your goal is to be a driver I would say no. I say no because it will be more difficult to go full time driving.

If you don't plan on being here for life and just need some cash to get through college I would say yes. I would for the fact you're getting paid more now and the college plan gives part time sups more than hourly employee's.

Sent using BrownCafe App

abite

It's more of a temporary thing through college. I don't see a future past that necessarily (who knows, but that's the plan). My hub doesn't even currently offer the college plan to preloaders, so I get nada. Management on the other hand... haha. So there's one yes, would love to hear some other opinions as well! :)Thank you UPS4Life

F

FrigidAdCorrector

It's a heck of a lot different than being a preloader, I can tell you that. The money for school is nice, but it is a lot tougher. Make sure you have a thick skin. I don't regret moving to management. But there are certainly some downfalls.

nicky