Split-shift

I'm a cover driver, the lowest seniority. I came from pre-load, still do pre-load every day (when not driving... which is every day). Lately local sort has been having staffing problems, and they have been asking me to come in. At first I was happy to help, but it's gotten rather ridiculous now. I work another job after I get off pre-load, so if I work local I'm getting about 3 hours of sleep. My question is can they force me? I want to be someone they can count on, when really in need, but not a door mat.

bleedinbrown58

That’s Craptacular
I'm a cover driver, the lowest seniority. I came from pre-load, still do pre-load every day (when not driving... which is every day). Lately local sort has been having staffing problems, and they have been asking me to come in. At first I was happy to help, but it's gotten rather ridiculous now. I work another job after I get off pre-load, so if I work local I'm getting about 3 hours of sleep. My question is can they force me? I want to be someone they can count on, when really in need, but not a door mat.
Nope I don't believe they can force you.

you aint even know it

Well-Known Troll
Troll
You're lucky. Man up and drink some energy drinks or coffee. That's the problem with the world right now. People want everything easy and not willing to sacrifice something as simple as "sleep" for success. "Sleep" will always be there. You'll get plenty when you're dead.

PiedmontSteward

RTW-4-Less

This answer is probably covered under your supplement, so you'd be better off asking your BA or steward.

That being said, on days that you drive you should probably not be forced to work local sort. On days that you're laid off from cover driving due to seniority/routes being cut, then you must report to local sort unless there's some language in your supplement stating otherwise.

What is your "home" sort when you're not cover driving? Is it preload or a hub sort? You can't really be forced to work a double shift.