Thinking of going back to UPS after 8 year hiatus...

Morrissey

Hello guys, this is my first post but I've been reading a lot of great stuff on here the last couple of weeks. Hopefully some of you can provide some input on my situation. Anyway, on to my question...

I previously worked at UPS between 1999 and 2004 as a part-time Unloader/Sorter/Mule Shifter while I was in college. Once I earned my degree, I immediately got a "real job" and moved to a different city. 8 years later, my company decided to relocate across the country and I chose not to follow them. The problem I have in finding another "real job" is that in those 8 years I've obtained 2 DUI's (I had a drinking problem and have been sober for 3 years now). Every time I get called back for an interview I have to disclose my criminal record and it's always a deal breaker. I know I :censored2: UP and trust me, I've learned my lesson...

So, being that my career options are somewhat limited at this point, I applied online for a part-time Package Handler position at my old hub and have an interview scheduled for next week. My plan is to start at the bottom again (I have no choice) and slowly build up my seniority again and (hopefully) one day be allowed to drive a package car.

Do you think my 2 DUI's will hinder my chances at getting re-hired as a part-time Package Handler? Should I disclose this at the interview or let them find out? Will they even care if the application only asks you list felonies? Will I ever be allowed to drive? Does my previous service count towards my pension?

Thanks for all your input guys...hopefully I get the job!

Last edited:

ocnewguy